Friday, 12. October 2007
Again to Awassa - Sep 27 to 30
Friday Sep 28 was a Holiday "Mesqel - Finding of the true cross". We spent the weekend with a group of the German church in Awassa. I took a lot of nice fotos of the place and the nature arround. Let's share the impression. First the nice place next to the lake:


Then one early morning Martin went to visit Awassa fish market, there are a lot of birds because of the fish:

I don't know exactly why, but anyhow I felt british with my umbrella going arround there to explore the area ...

The fish market is not like in Hamburg:


The birds like fish also:

These are Marabu's.

Next foto an eagle:


The white one is unknown to me. Perhaps somebody con help me. Could that be an ibis?


That bird I can not identify also:


More birds:


These called Hammerhead:


And a family of aegyptian geese:


White birds in a big cactus in the morning light:


Unexpected but long-awaited three hippopotamus near our house:


Hippopotamus are the most dangerous animal in Africa. They cause the most fatal accidents, because they are aggressive, which means when they decide to attac, nobody and nothing can stop them. Its not a good idea to go nearly by.

Later on a hiked up hill with a nice view to the fish market from above:


... and a likewise nice view to Awassa town:


Nearby we found the typical round hut of the south, calling "Sidama-house". Its made of splitted woven bamboo:

In front of the house you see my colleague Hartmut, with whom I made this morning trip.

And all arround, the monkeys observe us curious:

... comment